Friday, August 7, 2009

THE ROYAL-TONES (Jubilee Records)

Bob Sanderson was the guitarist and leader of the group The Royaltones. The group was formed in Dearborn, Michigan, in 1957, with the following line-up: Sanderson on guitar, Mike Popoff on piano, his brother Greg Popoff on drums, George Katsakis on sax and Kenny Anderson on bass.

Their original name was the Paragons, a previously utilized name that was dropped in August 1958, when the group was signed by Jerry Blaine's Jubilee Records.

Their first record, "Poor Boy"/"Wail!" (both sides written by Sanderson) was an immediate hit, peaking at # 17 in Bilboard and staying on the charts for 17 weeks.

They were present in The Complete Book Of Doo Wop with the instrumental sides...

-Seesaw/Little Bo. Jubilee Records-1959.


No comments: